Tuesday, November 24, 2020

Our Friendship Matters by Kimberly B Jones


 


Title: Our Friendship Matters

Author: Kimberley B Jones

Series: Standalone Title

Genre:  YA Fiction 

Publisher: Rhetaskew Publishing

Release Date: Oct 5, 2020

Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print 

Blurb/Synopsis:

Short Synopsis:

Leah and Sasha are 17-year-old friends who had been close to one another since elementary school, but as the summer approaches they find their friendship tested in ways they never anticipated.

Following graduation, Sasha's privileged life and perception of the world around her is suddenly altered when an old childhood friend persuades her to join in a campaign against an injustice after his best friend is killed by the police.

But joining the protest has unforeseen consequences for Sasha, distancing her from Leah, who becomes jealous of Sasha's new friends and finds herself on the opposing side, protesting alongside her group of new white friends.

As the tension mounts between the two bitterly opposed factions, a tragedy strikes and threatens to make Sasha and Leah enemies. Can they find a way to resolve their differences, putting them to the side and learn to accept each other's viewpoints? Or is their long friendship finished for good?


Long Excerpt:

17-year-old best friends Sasha, a black teenager and Leah, a white teen are two girls from affluent backgrounds and live comfortable lives, attending a well-established private Christian academy in St Louis. As they enter their final year, the main things occupying their minds are graduating and their senior prom.

But the lives of two popular girls are about to undergo a transition that neither of them wanted or expected when Mitchell, a young African-American boy from the city’s East View High School is shot and killed while walking home from a basketball game, by a police officer who had mistaken him for someone else.

Now tensions are rising among the community where he lived, and the citizens of St. Louis are angry. 

One night, while Sasha is out, she sees her old childhood friend, Ricardo, who is protesting the death of Mitchell. Curious about him and wondering if there is anything, she could do to become involved, Sasha talks to her friends about it.

They aren’t interested in getting involved however, and Sasha’s parents also forbid her from doing anything. As the closely held views she once had are quickly evaporating, Sasha makes a momentous decision and goes against all the advice she is given.

She decides to go against her parents and friends and protest downtown with Ricardo and his friends, Rashad and Victoria, who all attended East View High School. When Sasha feels like her friends have turned against her Ricardo and his friends are there for her. 

But her determination to fight for justice for Mitchell causes a rift in her relationships. An argument with Leah drives a wedge between them and leads Leah to take the opposite viewpoint, taking sides with those who are supporting different viewpoints, while Sasha’s boyfriend is jealous of the time she is spending with Ricardo and breaks off their relationship.

But there’s a bigger problem that neither girl knows about the groups they support. A war has been going on for several months between them and now Sasha and Leah have been sucked into it by their new friends. 

Realizing her error, Sasha tries to reach out to Leah, but her friend’s stubbornness prevents her from accepting the olive branch and Sasha has to accept that the friendship is at an end. 

Then, one night, a confrontation in a club leads to Rashad being severely beaten by Jacob and Joshua, two of Leah’s group.

Leah witnesses the assault and tries to intervene but is threatened by them and pushed to the ground. Now fearful of repercussions Leah turns to Sasha for help, knowing that her father is a lawyer.

She goes to the police station to tell the truth, which puts her and her family in danger from Jacob and Joshua, so her parents send her to their private lake house in the Ozarks, which nobody knows about. Her friends Leo, Sasha and Cameron accompany her for her safety and to talk over what happened during the summer. 

Leah and Sasha become friends again. Sasha has a big going away to college cookout, which she invites her friends she met this summer and her friends from her school. This is when they all say their farewells and discuss the views of protesting and get Sasha’s dad’s thoughts on the matter.



Kimberley B. Jones is a small country girl from St. George, SC. She followed her heart in college writing children books. Recently she decided to challenge herself and branch off to novels. She is your typical nomad who moves from place to place. Not by choice, but her husband serves in the military. She has a bachelors and masters in early childhood education. Kimberley is represented by Rhetaskew Publishing Company and is best known for her debut novel, Our Friendship Matters.

When she is not writing, she is either thinking of another topic or reading. She loves writing, it gives her a chance to escape into another human character and express herself, other than being your typical mother and wife. If you don't want to be on her bad side, then she needs her white chocolate mocha every morning. Some days Folgers breakfast blend coffee is okay.


Author Links

Amazon Author Page

Website






Sunday, November 22, 2020

Bad To Be Good by Andrew Grey



Title: Bad To Be Good
Author: Andrew Grey
Series: Bad To Be Good (Book 1)
Genre: Gay Romance /MM /LGTBQ /Contemporary Romance
Publisher: DreamSpinner Press
Release Date: Nov 10
Blurb/Synopsis:

Longboat Key, Florida, is about as far from the streets of Detroit as a group of gay former mobsters can get, but threats from within their own organization forced them into witness protection—and a new life.

Richard Marsden is making the best of his second chance, tending bar and learning who he is outside of organized crime… and flirting with the cute single dad, Daniel, who comes in every Wednesday. But much like Richard, Daniel hides dark secrets that could get him killed. When Daniel’s past as a hacker catches up to him, Richard has the skills to help Daniel out, but not without raising some serious questions and risking his own new identity and the friends who went into hiding with him.
Solving problems like Daniel’s is what Richard does best—and what he’s trying to escape. But finding a way to keep Daniel and his son safe without sacrificing the person he’s becoming will take some imagination, and the stakes have never been higher. This time it’s not just lives on the line—it’s his heart…

Monday, September 21, 2020

Spotlight Paint by Number by Andrew Grey


Title: Paint by Number: 
Author Andrew Grey
Series: Standalone 
Genre:M Contemporary Romance Publisher: Dreamspinner Press Release Date: Sept 8, 2020 Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print Blurb/Synopsis: Can the Northern Lights and a second-chance romance return inspiration to a struggling artist? When New York painter Devon Starr gives up his vices, his muses depart along with them. Devon needs a change, but when his father’s stroke brings him home to Alaska, the small town where he grew up isn’t what he remembers. Enrique Salazar remembers Devon well, and he makes it his personal mission to open Devon’s eyes to the rugged beauty and possibilities all around them. The two men grow closer, and just as Devon begins to see what’s always been there for him, they’re called to stand against a mining company that threatens the very pristine nature that’s helping them fall in love. The fight only strengthens their bond, but as the desire to pick up a paintbrush returns, Devon also feels the pull of the city. 

Thursday, July 9, 2020

Diamond in the Rough by Skye Warren Release Boost




Title: Diamond in the Rough
Author: Skye Warren
Series: The Diamond Trilogy Book 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: July 7 2020
Edition/Formats: 1st Edition ~ Audio, eBook & Print
Blurb/Synopsis:
I'm stepping off a nine hour flight when it happens. A white van. A dark hood. Every woman's worst nightmare. Now I'm trapped in an abandoned church. The man who took me says I won't be hurt. The man in the cell next to me says that's a lie. I'll fight with every ounce of strength, but there are secrets in these walls. I'll need every single one of them to survive.

DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH is a new dark romance from New York Times bestselling author Skye Warren. Finding yourself has never been so dangerous....

Book Links

Thursday, May 7, 2020

Blog Tour Spotlight Hard Road Back by Andrew Grey



Title: Hard Road Back
Author: Andrew Grey
Series: Currently a Standalone Title
Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance
Publisher: DreamSpinner Press
Release Date: May 5 2020
Edition/Format: 1st Edition/Format ~ eBook & Print
Blurb/Synopsis:
Rancher Martin Jamuson has a deep understanding of horses. He just wishes his instincts extended to his best friend, Scarborough Croughton, and the changes in their feelings toward each other. Martin may be the only friend Scarborough has in their small town, but Scarborough is a man of secrets, an outsider who’s made his own way and believes he can only rely on himself when the chips are down. Still, when he needs help with a horse, he naturally comes to Martin.
As they work together, Martin becomes more determined than ever to show Scarborough he’s someone he can trust… maybe someone he can love. Even if it risks their friendship, both men know the possibility for more between them deserves to be explored. But when Scarborough’s past reemerges, it threatens his home, horses, career, and even their lives. If they hope to survive the road before them, they’ll have to walk it together… and maybe make the leap from cautious friends to lovers along the way.

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Release Blitz Still Her by Natalie Parker




RELEASE BLITZ

STILL HER (Turn it Up #2) by Natalie Parker

Release Date: April 22, 2020
Cover Design: Lori Jackson Design
Photographer: Lindee Robinson Photography
Models: David Turner & Krista Lauren
Genre: Contemporary Romance

AMAZON PURCHASE LINK

SYNOPSIS

The last three years have been a hell of a ride.
The success of my band continues to steadily rise which is all a rock musician can ask for…
Except for maybe being married to my beautiful, spunky wife.
Having her by my side blows the rest of it all away.

There’s just one insidious evil F-ing it up.
We’ve signed with the industry’s highest rated PR rep.
The guy is a real shark and can seemingly make anything happen for us with a snap of his fingers.
He’s a high roller who’s built quite an empire and whether it’s women, deals, or access, if he wants it to happen, it happens.

But he and I have a problem now…

Because he now has his sights set on my wife.
He thinks that because of who he is and what he’s done for us, she’s his for the taking.
But while the douchebag overestimates his ability to get whatever he wants, he underestimates so much more.
Like Mayzie’s love for me and this band.
What I’m willing to sacrifice to keep him and his sick desires away from her.
The strength of our love when we face something together.
And her ability to stand up for herself and those she loves…

ADD TO YOUR TBR

GIVEAWAY

$25 Amazon Gift Card
a Rafflecopter giveaway

DIRECT LINK


AVAILABLE NOW

AMAZON PURCHASE LINK


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Natalie Parker resides in the Seattle area with her husband and two rugrats, but is originally a Michigan girl.
She always enjoyed writing and noticed she had a knack for it while earning her Psychology degree and has always been an avid reader, but never thought of becoming an author until one day there seemed to be a story to tell.

In her spare time, she enjoys reading, reading, reading to her kids, drinking coffee, reading, occasional yardwork, reading, listening to music, reading and writing.



CONNECT WITH NATALIE



Sunday, April 12, 2020

Power Divided by S. Behr * Guest Post*


Title: Power Divided
Author: S. Behr
Series: The Evolutionaries (Book 1)
Genre: YA, Coming of Age, Science Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Behr Ink
Release Date: Jan 21, 2020
Edition/Formats: Digital & Print
Blurb/Synopsis:

Violet is the princess of Neyr, the third of the Nine Realms of Amera. At least, she was until the day came when Violet was to demonstrate her abilities to the people and solidify her place in Ameran Society. The citizens of Amera have extraordinary abilities, from living on the ocean floor to flying in the air. But no one can turn back time. When the unthinkable happens, tearing her heart and her family in two, Violet flees and is unable to escape a tidal wave of events that brings her face to face with forgotten truths buried for millennia. Only the discovery of a thousand lifetimes may provide the key to her return home. When old enemies arrive on the shores of Neyr, distrust and prejudice resurface. Secrets begin to explode all around Violet, setting her world on fire, and those she loves fall victim to a terrorists' plan to eradicate their enemies. But Amera stands in their way, and with no mercy, the enemy is willing to go through the innocent to get what they want. Violet turns to her best friend Lily, and a few unexpected new friends, who band together to save what they can of her realm, and the rest of Amera. But in the storm that has turned her world upside down, will Violet be able to overcome the nightmare of her past in order to save the future of everyone in Amera, and perhaps the world?

 



“This first volume in the Evolutionaries series skillfully balances intriguing worldbuilding, whose details are slowly revealed, with well-paced action sequences. It also ably handles Violet’s character development along the way while also offering a diverse, lovable supporting cast whose members become the protagonist’s close friends and allies. The novel effectively addresses themes of cooperation and isolationism as well as autonomy, consent, and moving on with one’s life after learning of long-held secrets.”
“A notable and thoughtful addition to the crowded shelf of post-apocalyptic YA novels.”  Kirkus Review

Book Links


What's the hardest thing about writing? 
Do you write in order or do you write out of order, and then go back to compose your story into one cohesive piece? 

Wow, okay writing? Hmm, I would have to say the hardest thing about writing is not sounding like I just watched an episode of the Kardashian. Just Kidding, I don’t actually watch their shows, no offense to anyone, I am just a fantasy and sci-fi nerd. 
When I started writing The Evolutionaries series, it didn’t have a name. Not a big surprise there, but I had this grand vision of what I wanted it to be. It was so big that my walls looked like a murder board, strings and post its everywhere. It stayed that way for the better part of two years, until we remodeled, and I had to get a giant dry erase board. Seriously it’s bigger than every door in my house.
In the beginning I tried working from the heart, that’s what most artists do in my opinion, and I don’t mean just writers. Musicians, painters, photographers, you name it, I have seen it or maybe even tried it, but when it came to writing, it didn’t work. 
What I found at the end of my first brilliant draft, was that I had written my version of the Silmarillion. (Even though I love LoTR, I had to read the first 3 chapters of the Silmarillion at least four times.) So in other words, I had to regroup and re-strategize because my story was one giant info dump.
Now that I have made my first round about the block, I have learned a lot and it changed everything about the way I approach writing. I hope for the better!
I definitely try to have a good idea of where I am headed, and I do set up rules for my characters, and the places they live and come from. So if I want to write something I have to say nope, she isn’t capable of that, and it keeps things in order for me and the developmental part of the process to a minimum. (Keep my editor happy, is my mantra.)
 Overall, I write my first draft close to the 75% mark straight through, then take a look. I make notes of what I feel is missing, characters that don’t seem necessary, and plots that just shouldn’t be a part of this project. Just yesterday I added two new chapters to the beginning of book 2 so I think I am a mixed bag. 
I like to have the bones down, then go back and put in the meat and flavor of what I think is my style of writing. Then finish strong. The one thing I dislike about most books is a short ending that feels unsatisfying. I would say there are more series I love that do that, and I wish they didn’t. 
But hey, years later, they came back and wrote additional trilogies to go along with it so maybe that was their master plan all along!
For me, I do have another series in mind, and if I can swing it, the third series will weave the two back together into a new series that stands alone with a whole new look on life in my universe with new characters and cameos of past characters people will already know and hopefully love as much as I do.

I love a good story, in all artforms. I have been a professional photographer for nearly 20 years and I had to learn to tell a story with a click of a button and capture the layers of emotion in a single image. Little did I know it was boot camp for writing.
Being an author was a childhood dream and as I got older it seemed to be a dream that grew further out of reach with each passing year. But with encouragement from a lot of friends, new and old, my husband being my biggest cheerleader, The Evolutionaries series has begun with Power Divided.
To keep me company during my writing bubbles are my husband and our fur babies. They love whatever I write, even if they can't read it but they don't always love the music I write to. We all have to make sacrifices! And I am still pinching myself ever since I found out, that, recently I became a Featured Author. Power Divided will be in the Feb 15th Issue of Kirkus Magazine.
"This first volume in the Evolutionaries series skillfully balances intriguing world building, whose details are slowly revealed, with well-paced action sequences. It also ably handles Violet’s character development along the way, while also offering a diverse, lovable supporting cast whose members become the protagonist’s close friends and allies. The novel effectively addresses themes of cooperation and isolationism, as well as autonomy, consent, and moving on with one’s life after learning of long-held secrets." excerpt from Kirkus Review about Power Divided.
Extended Bio from Sbehr.com
STEPHANIE BEHR
It took a long time to realize that being half Chinese and half Filipino, (the country I was born in), then growing up in Texas from the time I was less than a year old, made me a child of many faces, traditions, and ideologies. Needless to say, it was confusing. But it was also amazing, and I am the person I am because of all the places my life has taken me so far, and the people I have met along the way.
When I met my husband, he was a rock star, and I was his biggest fan. His first gift to me was a camera, and without the support of Pushmonkey (his band), I might not have learned how much I love photography and made a career full of priceless moments. Now, Howie is my biggest fan. With photography, we got to work together, and it has taken us around the world. Who would have thought that would happen when I opened that gift, my very first camera?
Photography is the study of light. To capture a story in a moment and freeze emotions with a single click. To commemorate memories for future generations. I learned how to tell a story with a single image. Little did I know it would also be what started me down the path of wanting to tell stories with the written word.
                   SEE YOU IN THE NEXT BOOK!     

 Author Links
Twitter @sbehr_author